2000-2001 Academic Calendar

Note: This calendar reflects only the holidays observed during academic semesters. Please see the University calendar website for the faculty/staff holiday schedule and other calendars, and the Schedule of Classes portion of Testudo for information on academic deadlines, examination schedules, etc.

FALL TERM 2000

**Classes Start 8/30/00 (Wednesday)
**Labor Day Holiday 9/4/00 (Monday)
**Thanksgiving Holiday 11/23/00 (Thursday) through 11/26/00 (Sunday)
**Last Class 12/12/00 (Tuesday)
Study Day 12/13/00 (Wednesday)
Final Exams Start 12/14/00 (Thursday)
Final Exams End 12/20/00 (Wednesday)
Winter Commencement 12/21/00 (Thursday)


WINTER TERM 2001

Classes Begin 1/3/01 (Wednesday)
Martin Luther King Holiday 1/15/01 (Monday)
Classes End 1/23/01 (Tuesday)


SPRING TERM 2001

**Classes Start 1/29/01 (Monday)
**Spring Break 3/19/01 (Monday) through 3/25/01 (Sunday)
**Last Class 5/15/01 (Tuesday)
Study Day 5/16/01 (Wednesday)
Final Exams Start 5/17/01 (Thursday)
Final Exams End 5/23/01 (Wednesday)
Spring Commencement 5/24/01 (Thursday)


SUMMER TERMS 2001

Summer I Begins 6/4/01 (Monday)
Independence Day Holiday 7/4/01 (Wednesday)
Summer I Ends 7/13/01 (Friday)
Summer II Begins 7/16/01 (Monday)
Summer II Ends 8/24/01 (Friday)


** Fall term beginning and end dates are one day earlier than established in the University System of Maryland common calendar. Winter Term dates are tentative. All dates are potentially subject to change.

UMD Students

Back to Calendar Listing