UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, COLLEGE PARK

2012 - 2013 ACADEMIC CALENDAR

Note: This calendar reflects only the holidays observed during academic semesters. Please see the University calendar website for the faculty/staff holiday schedule and other calendars, and the Schedule of Classes portion of Testudo for information on academic deadlines, examination schedules, etc.

Fall Semester 2012

First Day of Classes August 29 (Wednesday)
Labor Day September 3 (Monday)
Thanksgiving Recess November 22-25 (Thursday-Sunday)
Last Day of Classes December 11 (Tuesday)
Reading Day December 12 (Wednesday)
Final Exams December 13-19 (Thursday-Wednesday)
Commencement - Main Ceremony December 19 (Wednesday)
Commencement - College/Department Ceremonies December 20 (Thursday)

Winter Term 2013

Classes Begin January 2 (Wednesday)
Dr. Martin Luther King Holiday January 21 (Monday)
Classes End January 22 (Tuesday)

Spring Semester 2013

First Day of Classes January 23 (Wednesday)
Spring Break March 17-24 (Sunday-Sunday)
Last Day of Classes May 9 (Thursday)
Reading Day May 10 (Friday)
Final Exams May 11-17 (Saturday-Friday)
Senior Day May 18 (Saturday)
Commencement - Main Ceremony May 19 (Sunday)
Commencement - College/Department Ceremonies May 19 (Sunday) and May 20 (Monday)

Summer Term 2013

Sessions I and I-A Begin May 28 (Tuesday)
Session I-A Ends June 14 (Friday)
Session I-B Begins June 17 (Monday)
Independence Day Holiday July 4 (Thursday)
Sessions I and I-B End July 5 (Friday)
Sessions II and II-C Begin July 8 (Monday)
Session II-C Ends July 26 (Friday)
Session II-D Begins July 29 (Monday)
Sessions II and II-D End August 16 (Friday)

All dates are potentially subject to change.


Return to Academic Calendars s