University of Maryland    Centers and Institutes
______________________________________________________
[Provost Home Page]

 

(Many centers incorporate "Maryland" or "University of Maryland" into common usage, though their formal names may not include those words. If you're having trouble locating a particular center, try dropping "Maryland" or "University" from the title.) Whenever feasible, acronyms have been included, so you can search by acronym as well. This list is also available arranged by college/division.

Name Contact  Title Phone E-mail
Alfred Gessow Rotorcraft Center for Education and Research (AGRC) Inderjit Chopra Director 301-405-1122 chopra@umd.edu
Chesapeake Bay Environment Program Michael Paolisso Principal Investigator 301-405-1432 mpaolisso@anth.umd.edu
Archaeology in Annapolis Mark Leone Director 301-405-8767 mleone@anth.umd.edu
Auditory Neuroethology Lab ("Batlab") Cynthia Moss Auditory Neuroethology Lab 301-405-0353 cmoss@psyc.umd.edu   
Bridge Engineering Software Center (BEST) Chung C. Fu Director 301-405-2011 ccfu@umd.edu
Campaign Assesment and Candidate Outreach Project, The Paul Herrnson Director 301-405-4123 pherrnson@capc.umd.edu
Casey Journalism Center on Children and Families Patrice Pascual Director 301-699-9336 ppascual@umd.edu
Center for Addictions, Personality and Emotion Research Carl Lejuez Director 301-405-5932 clejuez@psyc.umd.edu
Center for Advanced Life Cycle Engineering (CALCE) Michael Pecht Director 301-405-5323 pecht@umd.edu
Center for Advanced Study of Language (CASL) Richard Brecht Executive Director 301-226-8801 rbrecht@umd.edu
Center for Advanced Transportation Technology (CATT) Thomas Jacobs Director 301-405-7328 tjacobs@umd.edu
Center for Agricultural and Natural Resource Policy Loretta Lynch Director 301-405-1264

llynch@arec.umd.edu

Center for American Politics and Citizenship (CAPC) Paul Herrnson Director 301-405-4123 pherrnson@capc.umd.edu
Center for Applied Policy Studies Brian Darmody Director 301-405-1990 bdarmody@umd.edu
Center for Auditory and Acoustic Research (CAAR) Shihab Shamma Director 301-405-6842 sas@umd.edu
Center for Automation Research (CfAR) Larry Davis Director 301-405-4526 lsd@umiacs.umd.edu
Center for Bioinformatics and Computational Biology (CBCB) Eytan Ruppin Director 301-405-9611 ruppin@umd.edu
Center for Children, Relationships, and Culture (CCRC) Melanie Killen Associate Director 301-405-3176 mkillen@umd.edu
Center for Chinese Language Teacher Certification and Development (CCLTCD) Howard Stein Coordinator 301-405-8475 hstein1@umd.edu
Center for Communicating Networked Control Systems (CNC) P.S. Krishnaprasad Director 301-405-6843 pkrishna@umd.edu
Center for Comparative and Evolutionary Biology of Hearing (CCEBH) Catherine Carr
Sandra Gordon-Salant
Co-Director
Co-Director
301-405-6915
301-405-4225
cecarr@umd.edu
sgordon@hesp.umd.edu
Center for Complexity in Business Roland Rust
William Rand
Executive Director
Director
301-405-4300
301-405-7229
rrust@rhsmith.umd.edu
wrand@rhsmith.umd.edu
Center for Digital International Government (CDIG) V.S. Subrahmanian Director 301-405-6724 vs@cs.umd.edu

Center for Digital Thought and Strategy (DIGITS)

Il-Horn Hann
Siva Viswanathan
Co-Director
Co-Director
301-405-8592
301-405-8587
ihann@rhsmith.umd.edu
sviswana@rhsmith.umd.edu
Center for Dynamics and Control of Smart Structures (CDCSS) P.S. Krishnaprasad Co-Director 301-405-6843 pkrishna@umd.edu
Center for East Asian Studies (CEAS) Seung-kyung Kim
Director 301-405-7293 skim2@umd.edu

Center for Educational Policy and Leadership (CEPAL)

Robert Croninger Director 301-405-1818 croninge@umd.edu
Center for Engineering Concepts Development (CECD) David K. Anand Director 301-405-5294 dkanand@umd.edu
Center for Engineered Learning Systems (CELS) Gary W. Rubloff
301-405-2949 rubloff@umd.edu

Center for Environmental Energy Engineering (CEEE)

Reinhard Radermacher Director 301-405-5286 raderm@umd.edu
Center for Excellence in Service (CES) Roland Rust
Janet Wagner
Executive Director
Director
301-405-4300
301-405-2126
rrust@umd.edu
jwagner@rhsmith.umd.edu
Center for Financial Policy Russell Wermers Director 301-405-0572 rwermers@rhsmith.umd.edu
Center for Firefighter Safety Research and Development Steve Edwards Director 301-226-9960 mfridir@umd.edu
Center for Food Safety and Security Systems (CFS3) Robert Buchanan Director 301-405-1174 rbuchana@umd.edu
Center for Geotechnology Centrifuge Modeling Deborah Goodings
301-405-1960 goodings@eng.umd.edu
Center for Global Agricultural Monitoring Research

Chris Justice

Matt Hansen

Inbal Becker Reshef

Co-Directors 301-405-1600 cjustice@umd.edu
Center for Health Information and Decision Systems (CHIDS) Ritu Agarwal
Gordon Gao
Co-Director
Co-Director
301-405-3121
301-405-2218
ragar@umd.edu
ggao@rhsmith.umd.edu
Center for Heritage Resource Studies (CHRS) Paul Shackel Director 301-405-1422 pshackel@anth.umd.edu
Center for High Energy Astrophysics Lee Mundy Director 301-405-1529 lgm@umd.edu
Center for Historical Studies (CHS) Bernard C. Cooperman Director 301-405-4271 cooperma@umd.edu
Center for Human Capital, Technology and Innovation (HCIT)

Susan Taylor

Paul Tesluk

Co-Director

Co-Director

301-405-2240

301-405-4968

smtaylor@umd.edu

ptesluk@rhsmith.umd.edu

Center for Human Capital, Technology and Innovation (HCIT) Susan Taylor Director 301-405-2240 smtaylor@umd.edu
Center for Hypersonics and Research (CHR) Ken Yu Director 301-405-1333 yu@umd.edu
Center for Information Policy and Electronic Government (CIPEG) Paul T. Jaeger Director 301-405-1741 pjaeger@umd.edu
Center for Innovation Jerald Hage Director 301-405-9746 hage@socy.umd.edu
Center for Integrated Latent Variable Research (CILVR) Gregory Hancock Director 301-405-3621 ghancock@umd.edu
Center for Integrative Environmental Research (CIER) Kim Ross Executive Director 301-405-3988 kross@umd.edu
Center for International and Security Studies at Maryland (CISSM) John Steinbruner Director 301-405-4578 jsteinbr@umd.edu
Center for International Business Education and Research (CIBER) Kislaya Prasad Director 301-405-6359 kprasad@rhsmith.umd.edu
Center for International Development and Conflict Management (CIDCM) Paul Huth Director 301-314-8481 phuth@umd.edu
Center for International Economics (CIE) Carmen Reinhart Director 301-405-7006 creinhar@umd.edu
Center for Literacy, Language, and Culture (CLLC) Joseph McCaleb Director 301-405-3133 jlm@umd.edu
Center for Literary and Comparative Studies Zita Nunes Director 301-405-3801 znunes@umd.edu
Center for Mathematics Education Dan Chazan Director 301-405-3115 dchazan@umd.edu
Center for Micro Engineering Don DeVoe
301-405-8125 ddev@umd.edu

Center for Minorities in Science and Engineering (CMSE)

Rosemary Parker Director 301-405-3880 rparker@umd.edu
Center for Nanophysics and Advanced Materials (CNAM) Chris Lobb Director 301-405-6130 lobb@physics.umd.edu
Center for Networking of Infrastructure Sensors (CNIS) Stuart Milner Director 301-405-6556 milner@umd.edu
Center for Particle and String Theory (CPST) Sylvester James Gates Director 301-405-6025 gatess@umd.edu
Center for Persian Studies, The Ahmad Karimi-Hakkak Director 301-405-3147 karimi@umd.edu
Center for Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership Robert Grimm Director 301-405-2186 rgrimm@umd.edu
Center for Political Communication and Civic Leadership Shawn J. Parry-Giles Director 301-405-6527 spg@umd.edu
Center for Public and Corporate Veterinary Medicine (CPCVM) Valerie Ragan Director 301-314-6820 vragan@umd.edu
Center for Public Policy and Private Enterprise (CPPPE) Jacques Gansler Director 301-405-4794 jgansler@umd.edu
Center for Research on Increasing Minorities in STEM Careers, The



Center for Research on Latino Educational Success



Center for Research on Military Organization David Segal Director 301-405-6439 dsegal@socy.umd.edu
Center for Risk and Reliability (CRR) Ali Mosleh Director 301-405-5214 mosleh@eng.umd.edu
Center for Risk Communication Research Xiaoli Nan Director 301-405-0640 nan@umd.edu
Center for Safe Solutions (CSS) Thomas Carr Director 301-489-1700 tcarr@wb.hidta.org
Center for Scientific Computation and Mathematical Modeling (CSCAMM)  Eitan Tadmor Director 301-405-0648 tadmor@umd.edu
Center for Social Value Creation Christine Beckman Academic Director 301-405-9002 cbeckman@rhsmith.umd.edu
Center for Studies in 19th Century Music H. Robert Cohen Director 301-405-7780 hrcohen@umd.edu
Center for Studies of Post-Communist Societies (CSPCS) Vladimir Tismaneanu Director 301-405-4164 vtisman@gvpt.umd.edu
Center for the Study of Business Ethics, Regulation, and Crime (C-BERC) Sally Simpson Director 301-405-4726 cberc@rhsmith.umd.edu
Center for Substance Abuse Research Eric Wish Director 301-403-8333 selkin@umd.edu
Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE) Stephen Roth Director 301-405-9356 sroth1@umd.edu
Center for Technology and Systems Management (CTSM) Bilal M. Ayyub Director 301-405-1956 ba@umd.edu
Center for the Study of Advanced Professional Practice, The (CSAPP)



Center for Women in Computing Jan Plane Director 301-405-2754 jplane@umd.edu
Center on Young Adult Health and Development (CYAHD) Kathryn Vincent Carr Director of Operations 301-405-9768 kvincent@umd.edu
Center for Young Children (CYC) Francine Favretto Director 301-405-3168 ffavrett@umd.edu
Center on Aging Laura Wilson Director 301-405-2469 lwilson@umd.edu
Center on Optoelectronic Devices, Interconnects and Packaging (COEDIP) Aristos Christou Director 301-405-5208 christou@umd.edu
Central Maryland Research & Education Center (CMREC) Francis Allnutt Director 301-432-2767 fallnutt@umd.edu
Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center Martin Wollesen Director 301-405-2993 wollesen@umd.edu
Combined Array for Research in Millimeter-wave Astronomy (CARMA) Stuart Vogel Director 301-405-2134 svogel@umd.edu
Composites Research Laboratory Norman Werely Director 301-405-1927 wereley@umd.edu
Condensed Matter Theory Center (CMTC) Sankar Das Sarma Director 301-405-6145 dassarma@umd.edu
Connections Beyond Sight and Sound (CBSS) Diane Kelly Director 301-405-7915 dkellysi@umd.edu
Consortium on Race, Gender, and Ethnicity (CRGE) Ruth Zambrana Director 301-405-0451 rzambran@umd.edu
Cooperative Archaeology Program Lab Paul Shackel Director 301-405-4123 pshackel@anth.umd.edu
Cooperative Institute for Climate Studies (CICS) Fernando Miralles-Wilhelm Executive Director 301-405-5397 fernando@umd.edu
Cultural Systems Analysis Group (CuSAG) Tony Whitehead Director 301-405-1419 twhitehe@anth.umd.edu
David C. Driskell Center for the Study of the Visual Arts and Culture of African Americans and the African Diaspora Robert E. Steele Director 301-314-2621 rsteele@umd.edu
Democracy Collaborative Ted Howard Executive Director 301-405-9266 thoward1@umd.edu
DeVos Institute of Arts Management Michael Kaiser Chair 301-314-0963 info@devosintitute.net
Dingman Center for Entrepreneurship, The Elana Fine Managing Director 301-405-2170 efine@rhsmith.umd.edu
Earth System Science Interdisciplinary Center (ESSIC) Antonio Busalacchi Director 301-405-5599 tonyb@essic.umd.edu
East-West Space  Science Center   Roald Sagdeev Director 301-405-8051 rzs@umd.edu
Center for Healthy Families Carol Werlinich Director 301-405-4017 cwerlin@umd.edu
Fraunhofer Center Rance Cleaveland Director 240-487-2920 wcleavel@umd.edu
Gliner Center for Humor Communication and Health Sharon Simson Director 301-314-2582 ssimson@umd.edu
Global Land Cover Facility (GLCF) John Townshend Principal Investigator 301-405-4567 jtownshe@umd.edu
Harrison Program on the Future Global Agenda        
Harry R. Hughes Center for Agro-Ecology, Inc. Russell Brinsfield Executive Director 410-827-6202 russb2@umd.edu
Hearing and Speech Clinic       Elizabeth Coon Clinic Office Supervisor 301-405-4218 coon@hesp.umd.edu
Home and Garden Information Center (HGIC) Jon Traunfeld Regional Extension Specialist Coordinator 410-531-5556 jont@umd.edu
Horowitz Center for Health Literacy Katherine Barrett-Ryan Coordinator 301-405-9435 kgarcia@umd.edu
Human-Computer Interaction Laboratory (HCIL) Allison Druin Director 301-405-2769 allisond@umiacs.umd.edu
Institute for Advanced Computer Studies (UMIACS) Amitabh Varshney Director 301-405-6722 varshney@umiacs.umd.edu
Institute for Bioscience and Biotechnology Research (IBBR) Thomas R. Fuerst Director (240) 314-6000 lgarlena@umd.edu
Institute for Child Study Charles Flatter
301-405-2818 cf9@umail.umd.edu
Institute for Governmental Service and Research (IGSR) Robin Cox Director 301-405-3053 rcox2@umd.edu
Institute for Philosophy and Public Policy (IPPP) Mark Sagoff Director 301-405-4762 msagoff@umd.edu
Institute for Physical Science and Technology (IPST) Chris Jarzynski Director 301-405-4878 cjarzyns@umd.edu
Institute for Research in Electronics and Applied Physics (IREAP)  Thomas Murphy Director 301-405-1594 tem@umd.edu
Institute for Systems Research (ISR) Eyad Abed Director 301-405-3631 abed@umd.edu
Institutional Reform and the Informal Sector (IRIS) Dennis Wood Director 301-405-3594 dennis@iris.econ.umd.edu
Interindustry Forecasting at the University of Maryland (InForUM) Jeffrey Werling Director 301-405-4607 jwerling@umd.edu
International Center for Media & the Public Agenda (IMCPA) Susan Moeller Director 301 405 2419 smoeller@umd.edu
International Center for Transcultural Education Barbara Finkelstein Director 301-405-3588 bf@umd.edu
International Communication and Negotiation Simulations (ICONS) Daniella Fridl Director 301-405-4511 dfridl@umd.edu
J-Lab: The Institute for Interactive Journalism Jan Schaffer Executive Director 301-985-4020 jans@j-lab.org
Joint Global Change Research Institute Anthony Janetos Director 301-314-7804 ajanetos@umd.edu
Joint Institute for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition (JIFSAN)  Jianghong Meng Director 301-405-8382 jmeng@umd.edu
Joint Quantum Institute (JQI) Steve Rolston UM Co-Director 301-405-7189 rolston@umd.edu
Joint Space-Science Institute Cole Miller Director 301-405-1037 miller@astro.umd.edu
Knight Center for Specialized Journalism Carol Horner Director 301-985-7198 chorner@jmail.edu
Laboratory for Automation Psychology and Decision Processes Kent Norman Director 301-405-5924 klnorman@umd.edu
Laboratory for Computational Linguistics and Information Processing (CLIP)

Bonnie Dorr

Louiqa Raschid

Amy Weinberg

Co-Director

Co-Director

Co-Director

301-405-6768

301-405-2228

301-405-4934

bdorr@umd.edu

lraschid@umd.edu

weinber@umd.edu

Laboratory of Comparative & Functional Neuroanatomy Steven Brauth Director 301-405-5874 brauth@psyc.umd.edu
Language-Learning Early-Advantage Program (LEAP) Dianne Handy Director 301-405-4228 dhandy@hesp.umd.edu
Latin American Studies Center (LASC) Laurie Frederick Director 301-405-6682 lfred@umd.edu
Lower Eastern Shore Research and Education Center - Salisbury (LESREC) Francis Allnutt Director 301-432-2767 fallnutt@umd.edu
Maryland 4-H Center Kendra Wells State Program Leader 301-314-9070 rbyrne@umd.edu
Maryland Agricultural Experiment Station (MAES) Adel Shirmohammadi Acting Associate Director 301-405-2549 ashirmo@umd.edu
Maryland Assessment Research Center (MARC) Robert Lissitz Director 301-405-3620 rlissitz@umd.edu
Maryland Center for Automotive Research and Testing (MCART) D.C. Holloway Director 301-405-5281 solarcar@umd.edu
Maryland Center for Health Equity Stephen Thomas Director 301-405-8859 mche@umd.edu
Maryland Center for Undergraduate Research Lisa Kiely Director 301-405-0966 lkiely@umd.edu
Maryland Child and Family Development Laboratory (MCFDL) Jude Cassidy Director 301-405-0009 jcassidy@psyc.umd.edu
Maryland Hybrid Networks Center John Baras Director 301-405-6606 baras@umd.edu
Maryland Infant Studies Laboratory Amanda Woodword Principle Investigator 301-405-1258 awoodward@psyc.umd.edu
Maryland Institute for Applied Environmental Health (MIAEH) Betty Dabney Director (301) 405-6583 bdabney@umd.edu
Maryland Institute for Minority Achievement & Urban Education (MIMAUE) Stephanie Timmons Brown Director 301-405-5211 mailto:stbrown@umd.edu
Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH) Neil Fraistat Director 301-405-8927 fraistat@umd.edu
Maryland Language Science Center Colin Phillips Director 301-405-3082 colin@umd.edu
Maryland Language and Literacy Research Center Rebecca Silverman Director 301-405-6465 rdsilver@umd.edu
Maryland Nanocenter Gary Rubloff Director 301-405-3011 rubloff@isr.umd.edu
Maryland Neuroimaging Center Luiz Pessoa Director 301-405-2092 mnc@umd.edu
Maryland Pathogen Research Institute (MPRI) David Mosser Associate Director 301-405-2156 dmosser@umd.edu
Maryland Population Research Center (MPRC) Sandra L. Hofferth Director 301-405-6403 hofferth@umd.edu
Maryland Small Business Development Center (MDSBDC) Renee Sprow Director 301-403-8300 rsprow@umd.edu
Maryland Technology Enterprise Institute (MTECH) David Barbe Executive Director 301-405-3906 dbarbe@umd.edu
Maryland Transportation Technology Transfer Center Philip Tarnoff Director 301-403-4619 tarnoff@umd.edu
Meyerhoff Center for Jewish Studies Charles Manekin Director 301-405-9828 manekinc@umd.edu
Mid-Atlantic Regional Earth Science Applications Center Stephen Prince Director 301-405-4062 sprince@umd.edu
National Center for Smart Growth Research and Education Gerrit Knaap Director 301-405-6083 gknaap@umd.edu
National Center of Excellence for Aviation Operations Research (NEXTOR) Michael Ball Co-Director 301-405-2227 mball@umd.edu
National Center on Education, Disability and Juvenile Justice, The Peter Leone Director 301-405-6489 leonep@umd.edu
National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Response to Terrorism (START)  Gary Lafree Director 301-405-6600 glafree@crim.umd.edu
National Foreign Language Center (NFLC)   Catherine Ingold Director 301-405-9828 cwingold@nflc.org
National Socio-Environmental Synthesis Center (SESYNC) Margaret Palmer Director 410-919-4810 mpalmer@sesync.org
Neuroscience and Cognitive Sciences Program Robert Dooling Director 301-405-5925 dooling@psyc.umd.edu
Norbert Wiener Center for Harmonic Analysis and Applications John Benedetto Director 301-405-5175 jjb@umd.edu
Psychology Clinic   M. Colleen Byrne Director 301-405-4808 PsycClinic@psyc.umd.edu
Rural Development Center (at UMES) Daniel Kuennen Director 410-651-6183 dkuennen@umd.edu
Sloan Biotechnology Industry Center (SBIC) Jacques Gansler Director 301-405-4794 jgansler@umd.edu
Smart Materials and Structures Research Center Amr Baz Director 301-405-5216 baz@umd.edu
Space Systems Laboratory (SSL) David Akin Director 301-405-1158 dakin@umd.edu
Space Vehicles Technology Institute Mark Lewis Director 301-405-1133 mjlewis@umd.edu
Supply Chain Management Center (SCMC)

Sandor Boyson

Thomas Corsi

Co-Director

Co-Director

301-405-2205

301-405-2197

sboyson@umd.edu

tcorsi@umd.edu

Teaching and Learning Center (TLC) Gili Marbach-Ad Director 301-405-2075 gilim@umd.edu
University of Maryland Center on Aging (UMCA) Laura Wilson Director 301-405-2469 lwilson@umd.edu
University of Maryland Energy Research Center (UMERC) Eric Wachsman Director 301-405-8193 ewach@umd.edu
University of Maryland Prevention Research Center (UMD-PRC) Bradley Boekeloo Principal Investigator 301-405-8546 umdprc@umd.edu
Western Maryland Research and Education Center - Keedysville (WMREC) Francis Allnutt Director 301-432-2767 fallnutt@umd.edu
Wye Research and Education Center - Queenstown Russell Brinsfield Director 410-827-6202 russb2@umd.edu

Last updated 9/16/14

Please notify me of any corrections.